South Frisco Jazz Band

Big Bear Stomp

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The South Frisco Jazz Band was originally formed in 1956, and although they have changed their personnel quite a bit since then (banjoist Vince Saunders is the only founding member still with the group four decades later), they have stuck to their original musical vision of playing music in the style of Lu Watters' Yerba Buena Jazz Band and Turk Murphy. By the late 1970s, the current edition of the band was largely together. This exciting CD is a definitive example of the South Frisco Jazz Band at its best, featuring the cornets of Leon Oakley and Dan Comins, Mike Baird on clarinet and alto, trombonist Jim Snyder, pianist Rob Rhodes, Saunders, Bob Rann on tuba and drummer Lloyd Byassee. Whether it be songs from the Turk Murphy songbook, familiar Dixieland standards ("That's A Plenty" and "Come Back Sweet Papa"), classic blues, or an occasional obscurity, the hard-driving group is heard throughout in top form.

blue highlight denotes track pick