New Riders of the Purple Sage

Before Time Began

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Before Time Began is an album of archival material assembled for Relix Records by New Rider Dave Nelson. It contains: two songs recorded by New Rider John Dawson on July 31, 1968; The New Riders' (Nelson, Dawson, Jerry Garcia, Phil Lesh, and Mickey Hart) four-song demo tape of November 1969; and an entire LP side of experimental tapes made by Nelson, recording tracks backwards. The first side will be of interest to New Riders fans who are interested in hearing the elements that went into making the group's 1971 debut album. The second side may interest members of Nelson's family.

blue highlight denotes track pick