The Bad Cassettes

Bad Master

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Saturated with bleeps, blips, and a symphony of instruments and sounds, brainchild Sean Murphy attempts to reinvent the electronic wheel, and does a more than capable job at it. From the opening "In the Future," which has all the markings of the Avalanches minus the hip-hop backbeat, the group leaves nothing to waste. "Black Mood for a Bright Day" contains the same traits, but is a bit more new wave sounding. "She Is the Queen of My Mind" is more pop-friendly, with Murphy moving through a stream of consciousness in the vein of a futuristic Lou Reed. The album can be a bit disconcerting, as "I Wait for You to Come" has some strong grooves to it, but they are lost in a series of samples and sounds apparently spliced together. Murphy's voice comes across like a blend of Van Morrison and Laptop on "Empty Shell," but it's not used as often as one might like. A James Brown cover of "I Don't Mind" is a strong song without the various layers and textures. "She IS FAST" contains some synth pop ideas, but it's almost bypassed among a series of short, aimless snippets. Murphy manages an occasional lush instrumental, such as "Sparkle" and the closing "Melancholy in the Studio," perhaps the strongest track here.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:05 SpotifyAmazon
2 2:09 SpotifyAmazon
3 1:01 SpotifyAmazon
4 2:31 SpotifyAmazon
5 3:07 SpotifyAmazon
6 2:35 SpotifyAmazon
7 0:33 SpotifyAmazon
8 1:42 SpotifyAmazon
9 2:25 SpotifyAmazon
10 1:36 SpotifyAmazon
11 2:17 SpotifyAmazon
12 1:25 SpotifyAmazon
13 0:39 SpotifyAmazon
14 0:39 SpotifyAmazon
15 3:32 SpotifyAmazon
16 2:17 SpotifyAmazon
17 1:05 SpotifyAmazon
18 2:48 SpotifyAmazon
19 1:39 SpotifyAmazon
20 0:05 SpotifyAmazon
21 0:46 SpotifyAmazon
22 2:33 SpotifyAmazon
23 4:31 SpotifyAmazon
24 16:00 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick