Shooter Jennings

Bad Magick: The Best of Shooter Jennings and the 357's

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Bad Magick is comprised of two unreleased cover songs and 13 "hits," only one of which -- the pleasantly jangling "4th of July" -- experienced any degree of chart success. As a result, this compilation may be a bit premature, as it takes its material from three scant studio albums and one live release. Bad Magick does give a good overview of Shooter Jennings' short career, however, touching upon his country roots, his flirtation with Southern rock & roll, and his respect for those who came before him (best displayed by a faithful rendition of Dire Straits' "Walk of Life"). The two unreleased cuts -- a live version of "Lonesome Blues," originally written by Jennings' former guitarist Leroy Powell, and a cover of Hank Williams, Jr.'s "Living Proof" -- are both fine additions, the latter track only adding to Jennings' status as a torchbearer of outlaw country. None of this can change the fact that Bad Magick is most likely the result of a contractual obligation, but those looking for a quick introduction to Shooter Jennings' confident twang should be pleased with such a release.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:27
2 4:06
3 5:50
4 4:01
5 3:10
6 3:59
7 3:05
8 3:42
9 3:53
10 3:41
11 5:12
12 2:58
13 9:20
14 4:30
15 4:29
blue highlight denotes track pick