Various Artists

Awesome '80s, Vol. 5

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume in Platinum Disc's Awesome '80s series features a drastically mismatched mix of only ten songs, ranging from heavy metal to new wave to adult contemporary. If you can enjoy all of the songs on one volume, you have extremely broad taste. There's little in the way of stylistic focus from track to track, and it's doubly problematic that only half of the space on each disc is put to use. The fifth volume features Timbuk 3's "The Future's So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades," Eddy Grant's "Electric Avenue," the Tubes' "She's a Beauty," Golden Earring's "Twilight Zone," and Dan Hartman's "I Can Dream About You."

blue highlight denotes track pick