Ascension of Terror

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Ascension of Terror is Aeternus' 2001 release as a trio, after the departure of their former bassist, Morrigan. However, fans of the Norwegian dark metal group will welcome back Ares, with his characteristic deep, growling vocals; Erik, with his meteoric drumming; and the intense guitar of Radek. Aeternus delivers more original compositions with their signature raw, brutal sound, from "The Essence of the Elder" to "Wrath of the Warlord" to "Lair of Anubis." Fans of dark metal, especially those who have Aeternus' other albums -- Shadows of Old and Beyond the Wandering Moon -- will want to add this to their collections.

blue highlight denotes track pick