Emmet Swimming

Arlington to Boston

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Emmet Swimming's debut album on Epic, entitled Wake, was actually their second self-produced indie album. 1996 also saw the release of their proper major-label debut, From Arlington to Boston, a title which refers to the first and last songs on the album. The two songs are bookends to the album but also capture the dichotomy found in most of the band's songs: the upbeat roots rock sound mixed with pensive lyrics. The Fairfax, VA, band continues to develop their melodic rock and insightful lyrics, with this release. It is easy to see why Epic thought Emmet Swimming' would be a good band to develop, with its vocal similarities to Darius Rucker and Barenaked Ladies and roots rock/hard rock mix similar to Seven Mary Three. But the lack of great songwriting eventually prevented the band from achieving mainstream success. From Arlington to Boston is an average and slightly meandering album.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:39 Amazon
2 3:17 Amazon
3 3:12 Amazon
4 4:43 Amazon
5 5:16 Amazon
6 0:11 Amazon
7 4:14 Amazon
8 3:44 Amazon
9 3:48 Amazon
10 4:25 Amazon
11 4:17 Amazon
12 2:45 Amazon
13 2:19 Amazon
14 3:43 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick