Tom Tall / Ginny Wright

Are You Mine

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Tom Tall and Ginny Wright recorded together and separately for Fabor Robinson's Fabor and Abbot labels in the mid-'50s, scoring exactly two hits: a Tall and Wright duet titled "Are You Mine," and "I Love You," which paired Wright with labelmate Jim Reeves. Bear Family's 31-cut anthology Are You Mine collects most of the duet and solo recordings of Tall and Wright, but oddly omits "I Love You," a major country hit that is hard to find on CD. Wright may have been considered the bigger star at the time, but Tall is better remembered today because of his rock & roll recordings, which have been reissued on rockabilly compilations such as That'll Flat Git It!, Vol. 8 and Talk About a Party: The Crest Records Story. Aside from the handful of rock & roll recordings, much of Are You Mine consists of second-rate country music made interesting by its relationship to other, more successful Fabor and Abbot artists. For example, Jim Reeves was clearly a strong influence on Tall; "Boom Boom Boomerang" is a country version of a pop hit by another Abbott act, the De Castro Sisters; and songs such as "I Saw Esau" and "If You Know What I Know" echo the wordplay of Jim Ed and Maxine Brown's 1954 Fabor hit "Looking Back to See." A newly discovered, previously unreleased Tom Tall duet with Bonnie Guitar is another point of interest. The booklet exhibits Bear Family's typical high quality, with copious photos and quotations from original interviews conducted by the essayist, Canadian performer Johnny Vallis. Despite the inconsistency of the music itself, Are You Mine is exemplary of Bear Family's willingness to lavish attention on extremely niche-oriented packages and reissue music that otherwise might never be heard again.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:39
2 2:46
3 2:37
4 2:18
6 2:15
7 2:23
10 2:35
11 2:52
12 2:09
13 2:30
15 2:51
16 2:34
17 2:10
19 2:39
20 2:38
22 2:28
23 2:35
24 2:16
25 2:34
26 2:35
28 2:18
30 2:21
31 2:20
blue highlight denotes track pick