Original Soundtrack

Aqua Teen Hunger Force: Have Yourself a Meaty Little Christmas

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The changing of the seasons brings with it a certain inevitability. The weather gets cooler, the sun sets earlier, and Christmas music creeps into almost every aspect of our lives. In an effort to rescue us from the tired holiday standards that we're used to, the good people at Adult Swim have sent in the Aqua Teen Hunger Force to fill us with holiday cheer. On Have Yourself A Meaty Little Christmas, Meatwad, Master Shake, Frylock, and their acerbic neighbor Carl (as well as Neko Case and Schoolly D), regale us with a set of Christmas standards with an irreverent twist. "'Twas the Night Before Jesus" is Master Shake's amazingly absurd retelling of the nativity of Jesus, with the baby Jesus' parents being killed by Voldemort, prompting him to go off to wizard college and join the Cannonball Run before his confrontation with Perplexo, a half-man/half-18 wheeler who is a "composite character to take the place of King Herod, David & Goliath, and most of Santa's elves." On "Hark! The Herald Angels Rap," Meatwad tries to put a modern spin on a classic with the help of his imaginary friend Boxy Brown, only to have the song morph from a tender carol into a Public Enemy-inspired, politically charged rap about the state of racial equality in Bethlehem. The real gem of the collection is "I Sure Hope I Don't Have to Beat Your Ass This Christmas." It's a tender duet between Shake and Meatwad on the importance of giving good gifts and the consequences of giving crummy gifts. While this album may not be the most family-friendly Christmas album, it's certain to break up the monotony of the same old holiday songs. If you're not a fan of Williams Street and Adult Swim's comic sensibilities, this probably isn't the album for you, but if you're a lover of the ATHF's brand of profane humor, Have Yourself a Meaty Little Christmas is sure to be a holiday hit.

blue highlight denotes track pick