Various Artists

Antologia de la Nueva Trova, Vol. 4

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Egrem's Antologia de la Nueva Trova, Vol. 4 collects more of Cuba's most political and poetic nueva trova songs, including Carlos Lage's "Filosofando," Manuel Argudin's "Sin Apoyo Mi Mano en Hombro Alguno," Karel Garcia's "Mi Filosofia," and Alejandro Bernabeu's "Homenaje." Other highlights include Argudin's "Soy," Rita Del Prados' "Cancion Vieja Para Mis Manos," and Norge Batista's "Requiem." Though by itself the collection isn't a comprehensive history of this political folk song style, it is a solid volume within the series as well as a good introduction to some of nueva trova's contemporary artists.

blue highlight denotes track pick