Jason Kahn


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Analogues was recorded before Drums and Metals, but was released at the same time. The two albums, very different in nature, exemplify the complementary aspects of Jason Kahn's music. Where Drums and Metals consisted of a series of all-acoustic percussion solos, this album proposes sound art pieces. Samples derived from radio, drums, metals, and field recordings in Geneva are assembled in real time. These five pieces are not electro-acoustic compositions or laptop constructions. They were conceived as performance pieces, played direct to DAT on a sampler. What the two albums have in common is an interest in rhythm (the looped samples creating evanescent ambient techno beats) and in sound. Everything else goes in the opposite direction, the most obvious contradiction held in the purity of tone of the bells and cymbals used on the other album and the artificial constructions found here. No matter, it works. The pieces breathe and evolve slowly with occasionally a more distinct shift in movement. This aspect of Kahn's music is less distinctive and recalls the works of many Austrian, German, and Swiss artists such as Asmus Tietchens, Illusion of Safety, and even Christof Kurzmann. The last piece, "Cymbal," integrates samples of cymbal playing, offering a synthesis of the "two sides of Kahn" that announces his third solo album, Plurabelle.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 15:31
2 12:56
3 8:15
4 7:39
5 4:41
blue highlight denotes track pick