Various Artists

Amor del Bueno, Vol. 3

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Amor del Bueno, Vol. 3 is a CD/DVD package that boasts an impressive selection of contemporary Latin pop hits, most of them ballads. There are a whopping 17 tracks on the CD, and the DVD includes videos for all except one of them. The previous couple Amor del Bueno compilations were commercial blockbusters in Mexico, and it's easy to see why these albums are so popular. Amor del Bueno, Vol. 3 is a highlight reel of Latin pop hits from 2007-2008. Some of the most notable inclusions are Alejandro Fernández's "Me Dedique a Perderte," Julieta Venegas' "Eres Para Mí," Ricardo Arjona's "Cuando," and La Quinta Estación's "Daría." While the first half of the disc is loaded with superstars, the second half is a good place to discover rising stars, most of whose songs are good if not great here. For instance, Nikki Clan's "Yo No Te Puedo Olvidar" and Allison's "Baby Please" are both good finds sequenced way at the end of the disc. Furthermore, Kany García is a really promising newcomer, and Víctor y Leo are a Brazilian duo trying to break into the Spanish-language market with the spare ballad "Nada Es Normal," an adaptation of their Portuguese-language hit "Nada é Normal." In spite the subtitle of the album, Las Mejores Baladas de Hoy, this is far from a sleepy collection of ballads. Venegas' dance-pop, Sin Bandera's R&B, and Nikki Clan's power pop are interspersed throughout to keep the proceedings lively. Too many hits collections don't measure up to their billing. Amor del Bueno, Vol. 3 is one that does.

blue highlight denotes track pick