Buck Clayton

All the Cats Join In

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

By the time this record was released, the Buck Clayton jam sessions had already become legendary; all have been reissued in a highly recommended six-CD Mosaic box set. The five selections on this out-of-print LP were recorded at three different sessions. The collective personnel is quite impressive: trumpeters Buck Clayton, Billy Butterfield, Ruby Braff and Joe Newman, trombonists J.C. Higginbotham, Tyree Glenn, Benny Green, Dickie Harris, Urbie Green and Henderson Chambers, Coleman Hawkins, Julian Dash and Buddy Tate on tenors, altoist Lem Davis, baritonist Chalrie Fowlkes, pianists Kenny Kersey, Al Waslohn and Sir Charles Thompson, rhythm guitarists Steve Jordan and Freddie Green, bassists Walter Page and Milt Hinton, drummers Bobby Donaldson and Jo Jones and (on "Don't You Miss Your Baby") singer Jimmy Rushing. Everyone plays at least up to their usual high level and the riffing behind some of the solos really generates a lot of excitement.