All the Best From Prism

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

All the Best From Prism is a dozen of the group's best tracks, combining the strongest material from Armageddon, Young and Restless, Small Change, and their self-titled release. Prism's powerful use of the synthesizer lifts tunes like "Spaceship Superstar," "Flyin," and "See Forever Eyes" over and above conventional guitar rock, while ballads like "Night to Remember" and "It's Over" put Ron Tabak's voice in the spotlight. With off-and-on help provided by Bryan Adams and producer Jim Vallance, as well as trumpet player-turned-producer Bruce Fairbairn, Prism evolved into one of Canada's leading rock & roll bands, eventually cracking Billboard's Top 40 with "Don't Let Him Know" in March of 1982. All the Best From Prism fairs well as a quick-fix compilation, but with five extra tracks, Over 60 Minutes With Prism is a more complete buy. Disappointingly, neither contain the beautifully sung "Rain" from the Small Change album, now out of print.