Rob McConnell & the Boss Brass

Again!, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first of two sets recorded by Rob McConnell's Boss Brass in 1978 was originally put out by the Canadian Umbrella label and for a time on LP by the now-obsolete Pausa company. The 17-horn, 22-piece orchestra performs five standards (including a samba version of "Take the 'A' Train"), plus McConnell's 'The 4, 679, 385th Blues In Bb." Pianist Jimmy Dale is featured on "Everytime We Say Goodbye"; flugelhornist Guido Basso is showcased on "A Time for Love"; the two French horns are prominent on "My Ship," and the two tenors (Eugene Amaro and Rick Wilkins) battle it out on the blues. Fine straight-ahead big band music.