Buddy Tate

After Dark

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Both tenor saxophonist Buddy Tate and trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison were still in near-prime form at the time these two sessions (reissued on a Progressive CD) were recorded. Tate is well showcased on both dates, quintet outings with Edison or (for four of the dozen selections) trombonist Roy Williams and European rhythm sections led by drummer Ted Easton. The repertoire sticks to swing standards and emphasizes ballads, but still contains some fiery moments. Highlights include "I Cried for You," "September in the Rain," "Dream" and "I Cover the Waterfront." One of Tate's best late-period recordings.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 7:10
2 6:06
3 4:38
4 6:44
5 3:47
6 3:43
7 5:05
8 3:17
9 5:47
10 3:56
11 4:43
12 3:53
blue highlight denotes track pick