Patrick Gallois / Czech Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra

Domenico Cimarosa: Overtures, Vol. 5

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Naxos' series of Domenico Cimarosa's overtures has featured different pairings of conductors with orchestras: Patrick Gallois appeared on Vol. 3 with the Sinfonia Finlandia Jyväskylä, and the Czech Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra was conducted by Michael Halász on Vol. 4. For this fifth volume, Gallois and the Czech Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra join forces in six multi-movement and five single-movement selections, all composed in the Classical style and sometimes related to the early 18th century symphony. Because Cimarosa's operas and cantatas have become quite obscure, their overtures provide the best chance of a revival, even though the bulk of them are seldom performed or recorded. They are typically light and spirited, and similar in flavor to Mozart and Rossini, especially in their tunefulness, elegance, and cheerfulness. That none of these pieces are in the concert repertoire today shouldn't put off listeners, because Cimarosa's music is immediately accessible and infectious, and the overtures are short enough that a handful can be appreciated in a single sitting. Sample any track, though the overture to La bella Greca suggests the broader symphonic implications of the Classical operatic overture, while L'Olimpiade shows how Cimarosa handled a more compact form.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Atene edificata
1 4:16
2 2:11
Componimento drammatico
3 7:20
4 2:27
5 2:49
La bella Greca (I matrimoni impensati)
6 5:46
7 3:14
8 2:20
La felicità inaspettata
9 1:44
La villana riconosciuta
10 3:26
11 1:49
I due supposti conti, ossia Lo sposo senza moglie
12 4:15
13 1:44
14 2:58
Le trame deluse, ossia I raggiri scoperti
15 4:12
16 2:22
Il marito disperato (Il marito geloso)
17 5:22
18 6:07
La ballerina amante
19 6:40
Il fanatico burlato
20 5:56
blue highlight denotes track pick