Various Artists

12 Inch Dance: House

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A budget-priced, 30-track, triple-disc compilation from Rhino in the U.K., 12 Inch Dance: House is more thoughtful than the average house compilation. It provides an assortment of tracks available on dozens of other sets but also digs a little deeper to appeal to collectors, not just casual listeners. The first third is almost all early Chicago house basics, including Frankie Knuckles and Jamie Principle's "Your Love," the instrumental version of Mr. Fingers' "Can You Feel It," and the extended version of Ten City's "Devotion." Highlights from the second and third portions include New Order's "Fine Time [Silk Mix]," Chaka Khan's "I'm Every Woman [Remix]," Cabaret Voltaire's "Keep On (Clubbing)," and the extended mix of Orbital's "Chime."

blue highlight denotes track pick