• AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The four musicians who make up Poire_Z' s normal lineup are quite capable of constructing a dense, throbbing wall of sound on their own. +, as the title of the disc implies, finds them in collaboration with three other sound artists, one per track. On "bottle_bow" (all song titles apparently derived from arbitrary headings on dictionary pages), the amazing Otomo Yoshihide joins the crew for an extended foray that begins almost industrially before settling into an eerie, barren calmness, a world of atmospheric crackles where chance radio broadcasts of Casey Kasem are as likely to drift across the listening spectrum as anything else. An ominous pulse eventually signals a return to harsher climes, and the group rides out the remainder of the improv in impressive form, no one member dominating the sound. In fact, one of the many salient aspects of this recording is the control the musicians have over their potentially overpowering arsenal. Each adjusts himself to the musical needs of the moment, not to showboating. Sachiko M., she of the pristine sine waves, leads the quartet into a soft, gurgling realm, illuminated by the thin, brilliant rays she extracts from an empty sampler. Subtle loops begin to phase in and out and "dirty" rasps and crashes appear occasionally, all interweaving with the sine drones and other hums. It's an extraordinarily complex fabric that hugely repays repeated listening. For the final piece, veteran turntablist Christian Marclay joins in, at times adding some more "traditional" spinning but more often blending in seamlessly with the band. The improvisation is full of pulsations at varying angles to each other, overlaid by yet another rich tapestry of abstract sound. The members of Poire_Z are masters of this form of free improvisation, and + finds them near the top of their game. It's a superb, exciting recording.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
blue highlight denotes track pick