The Cliff

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

2013's Forever Becoming found the instrumental post-rock unit soldiering on without founding guitarist Laurent Lebec, who left the fold amicably and was replaced by touring guitar player Dallas Thomas. The band's genius for crafting evocative slabs of sub-zero post-metal remained unchanged though, and their fifth studio outing turned out to be one of their finest. 2015's The Cliff EP liberates one of the album's best cuts ("The Cliff") with three "reimaginings," including remixes from Justin Broadrick (Godflesh, Jesu), Aaron Harris and Bryant Clifford Meyer (ISIS, Palms), as well as an unprecedented vocal version featuring Allen Epley (Shiner, the Life and Times). The EP also includes a previously unreleased track, the semi-acoustic "The Wait."

blue highlight denotes track pick