Herbert von Karajan / Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

Karajan Gold

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Drawn from Herbert von Karajan's numerous recordings with the Vienna Philharmonic and the Berlin Philharmonic, Karajan Gold is a double-disc introduction to the famous conductor's work. All the selections are equally famous, so this twofer may be regarded as a greatest-hits album of classical music, with Karajan providing a consistency of approach that other compilations lack. Whether the tracks are light in nature, as the Radetzky March, the Light Cavalry Overture, and On the Beautiful Blue Danube undoubtedly are, or taken from more serious works, such as Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 or Dvorák's Symphony No. 9, "From the New World," every piece is beloved by classical listeners, and Karajan's versions are favorites for many. This package was released in 2008 to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Karajan's birth and must be distinguished from Deutsche Grammophon's Karajan Gold series of 32 CDs.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Carmen, opera
1 02:26
Serenade No. 13 for strings in G major ("Eine kleine Nachtmusik"), K. 525
2 05:45 Amazon
Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61
3 10:27
Serenade for strings (or piano, 4 hands) in C major, Op. 48
4 04:15 Amazon
Cavalleria rusticana, opera (melodramma) in 1 act
5 03:37
6 11:51 Amazon
7 02:31 Amazon
Violin Concerto, for violin, strings & continuo in E major ("La Primavera," The Four Seasons; "Il cimento" No. 1), Op.8/1, RV 269
8 03:32 Amazon
Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068
9 06:09 Amazon
Peer Gynt Suite for orchestra (or piano or piano, 4 hands) No. 1, Op. 46
10 04:09
11 15:47
blue highlight denotes track pick