Various Artists

Indie Top 20, Vol. 16

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Each volume in Beechwood's Melody Maker-sponsored Indie Top 20 series acts as a fairly adequate time capsule of U.K. indie music. Initiated in 1987 and put to rest in 1996, the 23 volumes act as a more-discerning English equivalent of the monthly Certain Damage samplers that came with CMJ (College Music Journal) in the U.S. And since the U.K. definition of "indie" has a wider scope, this series has much more stylistic variety. The 16th volume, released in 1993, includes Sugar's "Changes," Stereolab's "Low Fi" (amazingly, the group's first appearance in the series), Swervedriver's "Never Lose That Feeling," Pavement's "Trigger Cut," and Come's "Fat Piss Blues." More acknowledgment of American indie bands on this one, along with Throwing Muses' umpteenth appearance (not a complaint).