Roy Orbison

The Sun Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Recall's Essential Sun Collection compiles 36 tracks from the legendary Roy Orbison's tenure at the equally legendary Sun Records. Both Rhino and Bear Family have released similar collections, but none this expansive. While listeners looking for later singles like "Only the Lonely" and "Oh, Pretty Woman" would be better off with one of Orbison's more radio-friendly "greatest-hits" collections, longtime fans will be content with multiple takes of "Ooby Dooby" and "Trying to Get to You," as well as classic early cuts such as "Rock House" and "Devil Doll."

blue highlight denotes track pick