Duke Ellington

Complete, Vol. 11: 1938

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This llth of 15 volumes from French CBS continues the complete reissue of all Duke Ellington's recordings during the '30s for Columbia's associated labels. With small-group sessions led by Cootie Williams and Johnny Hodges and many fine big-band sessions, this set proves that Duke Ellington had a brilliant orchestra before the 1939-42 edition made history. Included are two versions of Lawrence Brown's famous solo on "Rose of the Rio Grande."