Poul Ruders

Biography by

Poul Ruders is generally considered the foremost Danish composer of the postwar generation, having forged a solid reputation as an eclectic willing to use a variety of techniques and styles. In his works…
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Violin Concerto No. 1 1981 Concerto
Tundra 1990 Orchestral
Nightshade, for 10 instruments 1986 Chamber Music
Psalmodies, for guitar & 9 instruments (Guitar Concerto No. 1) 1989 Chamber Music Concerto
Concerto in Pieces (Purcell Variations for orchestra) Concerto
Chaconne for solo guitar 1996 Chamber Music
Star-Prelude and Love Fugue, for piano 1990 Keyboard
The Second Nightshade, nocturne for orchestra 1991 Orchestral
Four Dances in One Movement 1983 Orchestral
Dramaphonia, for piano & chamber ensemble (Drama Trilogy No. 1) 1987 Concerto
Alarm, for percussion 1983 Chamber Music
Preghiera semplice, motet for chorus 1981 Choral
Romances, for viola & piano 2011 Chamber Music
Guitar Concerto No. 2 ("Paganini Variations") 1999 Concerto
The Bells, for soprano & chamber ensemble 1983 Vocal Music
Schrödinger's Cat, 12 canons for violin & guitar 2012 Chamber Music
Saledes Saae Johannes (Thus Saw St. John), for orchestra 1983 Orchestral
Piano Sonata No. 2 1982 Keyboard
Etude and Ricercare, for solo guitar 1994 Chamber Music
New Rochelle Suite, for guitar & percussion 2003 Chamber Music
See All Compositions