Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

The Lobster [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Starring Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz, The Lobster is a surrealist comedy-drama directed by Yorgos Lanthimos. It premiered at the 2015 Cannes Film Festival, where it won the Jury Prize, and its soundtrack followed in May 2016 to coincide with the film's U.S. release. Half of the ten tracks are existing recordings of chamber music classics from the likes of Beethoven, Borodin, and Stravinsky. The rest is an eclectic mix of off-kilter song, including the noir ballad "Where the Wild Roses Grow" by Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds and Kylie Minogue, and the Greek lament "Ti Ein Afto Pou To Lene Agapi," performed by Sophia Loren and Tonis Maroudas. The selection was curated by Lanthimos and music supervisor Amy Ashworth.

blue highlight denotes track pick