Dayna Stephens

That Nepenthetic Place

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Dayna Stephens' 2013 album, That Nepenthetic Place, is the jazz saxophonist's third studio effort and first for Sunnyside Records. The album follows up his 2012 album, Today Is Tomorrow, and once again features a set of swinging, adventurous post-bop cuts. Once again Stephens delves into a mix of standards and originals here, mixing in new compositions with such classics as "But Beautiful" and "Impressions." Joining Stephens is his able-bodied quintet featuring trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire, alto saxophonist Jaleel Shaw, pianist Taylor Eigsti, bassist Joe Sanders, drummer Justin Brown, and special guest vocalist Gretchen Parlato.

blue highlight denotes track pick