Claude Hopkins


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A brilliant stride pianist, Claude Hopkins was captured on record relatively few times after 1940 and rarely on unaccompanied solos, which seemed to be his natural setting. This solo set really allows Hopkins an opportunity to stretch out, and he excels on eight standards and three originals. The frequently exciting yet sometimes thoughtful music is highlighted by "Indiana," "Sugar," "Crazy Fingers" and "Who's Sorry Now." Recommended.